A Caregiver’s Resolutions

 

It’s that time when we all look back, see what we’ve done, and resolve to do things better next year.  As caregivers, when we evaluate the past year, it’s easy and even typical to blame ourselves for any problems or issues that arose with those we cared for. Were we patient? Did we put our loved ones first?  Did we make them comfortable?  Were all their needs met?  This list doesn’t include any concerns for ourselves and our needs.  That’s the problem.  As caregivers we tend to put the needs of others ahead of our own needs.  We burden ourselves with the feeling that we must be all things at all times to our loved one.  The important thing to remember is that we need to make ourselves the important person in our lives.  Unless we are in good shape physically and emotionally, we’ll be of no use to anyone else.  This year’s resolutions need to reflect that goal.  These will be my resolutions for the coming year.

#1  I will get the rest and sleep I need.

#2  I will be sure to accept offers of help and if no offers are made, I will loudly and clearly ask for it.  I will not carry the load alone.

#3  I will adopt a healthy lifestyle.  I will exercise, eat well, and see the doctor when needed.

#4  I will take care of myself emotionally. I will share my life and experiences with others and ask for their support and advice.  I will stay connected with friends and family.

#5  I will do something every day to de-stress, even if it’s something simple like take a hot soak in the tub or read a few chapters of a book.

#6  I will learn all I can about my loved one’s condition or disease.  The more I know, the better equipped I will be to care for my loved one.

What are your New Year’s Resolutions? Share below and visit us at http://www.trilliumhomecare.com

 

1 Comment

Filed under Caregiver, companionship, Home Care, Personal care, Senior Care, Trillium HomeCare, Uncategorized

One response to “A Caregiver’s Resolutions

  1. great resolutions for caregivers! 🙂 i think i should add those to my resolutions.

Leave a Reply

